Creating More Woodcuts

During the experimentation with shadows as a source material, it felt like a good point to create more woodcuts to try further ideas and how they may complement some of my existing work. So I decided to use a piece of MDF, that had been left behind in my studio space, being a lot thinner than the previous pieces I have used I was slightly unsure if I would achieve the desired effect.
I cut the piece of MDF into three long strips, in order to change the size, shape and layout of my prints. The woodcut designs consisted of one using more realistic imagery of architecture. These were the venetian buildings I have previously used in my woodcuts, but instead face on and in fine lines of detail.
20140311_143711

20140311_143734
The other woodcut was created from a drawing I did of the lines and shapes that were on some pieces of news print left behind from one of my prints.20140320_092049

Leave a comment