Printing and Layering

After finishing my large woodcut I began printing. I started as black and white, both its scale and colour scheme were effective and gave impact. However despite the composition needed to be slightly adjusted as some of the layout of the shapes would be benefited more by rearranging to give more depth to the image.
So after designing various posibilities for different woodcuts, I then created two smaller woodcuts using pieces of wood left over from my large scale piece. These were both successful. So the next priority was to think about the backgrounds of the prints, again to give more depth and experiment with different ideas for layering. So here I made many A4 sized abstracted paintings, first trying playing with the paint and dragging it like Richter. Then focussing on the blocks of colour and shapes of the buildings, using lots of warm colours for some pieces and cool for others, then sometimes black for a different feel and to outline the shapes. The woodcut would then be printed on top of the image in relevant or opposing colours, this has resulted in a lot of experimentation involving overlapping and layering.

Since having various tutorials and gaining advice on where would be best to take the prints and ideas, there has been a lot more experimentation in different forms;

-I have cut up one of the smaller woodcuts to further try new ways of arranging.

-I have tried the pieces on a slightly larger scale with small sections of opposing colours e.g. warm coloured backgrounds with small sections of green, I then printed onto these- one red, one blue and two black. I have also been keeping the pieces of new print I have used as the lighter effects or ghost prints have a really lovely subtlety to them that I find will be helpful and influential for the prints ill be creating deliberately.

-Painted layer of white acrylic over some of my earlier prints, to see the effect and seeing what ‘pops’ from the image in the background, with the intention to then print on top of them.

-Although instead of just straight on top of it maybe needs something else between the layers. After tutorial definitely decided that I need another source material work among what I already have.

-I am using shadows as my other source material, feeling that they have a definite relation to the architecture I have already, but are however softer and have nice abstract feel to them so is unclear whether they are the same or related or even what they are.

Leave a comment